“A grim literary mystery and a hopeful family story, this genre-blending novel manages to be both charming and heartbreaking.

KIRKUS

The Latest Novel from Deborah E. Kennedy

From The Publisher

Shimmering with rage and sparkling with subtle humor, Billie Starr’s Book of Sorries showcases Edgar Award-nominee Deborah E. Kennedy’s singular voice as Jenny, a heroine in the vein of Olive Kitteridge in Crosby, Maine and Miles Roby in Empire Falls, shines a light on the town of Benson, Indiana, where lakes, grudges, and family rifts run deep – but so does a mother’s love.

READ MORE

In The Press

“Kennedy’s second novel (after Edgar-nominated Tornado Weather) adeptly delves into the intricacies of interpersonal relationships within small-town life, much like Elizabeth Strout’s Olive Kitteridge.” — Library Journal

“A rollicking, zany novel about a single mother scraping by in small town America that examines the politics of power, beauty, and family.” — Ash Davidson, acclaimed author of Damnation Spring

An enthralling suspense thriller…Exquisite prose matches deep characterization. Kennedy deserves to win an Edgar with this captivating sophomore effort.””

PUBLISHERS WEEKLY